A Beginner's Guide to Design Thinking : The Phases of Design Thinking

The Phases of Design Thinking

In this course, we will focus on the five-stage model originally proposed by the Hasso-Plattner Institute of Design at Stanford (d.school). These five components are explained below. 

The Five Stages of Design Thinking 

The stages are visualized and explained below.

  • Empathize - understand your customers' physical and emotional needs and pain points.
  • Define - gather insights from your contextual inquiry and define the problem you're going to solve.
  • Ideate - Brainstorm to generate ideas about how you're going to solve the problem/s you've identified.
  • Prototype - Bring life to your ideas through prototyping.
  • Test - Evaluate how your customers interact with your prototypes.


The five stages of design thinking adapted from the Interaction Design Foundation.


In the upcoming sections, we'll dive a bit deeper into each stage inspired by the research at Hasso-Plattner Institute of Design at Stanford (d.school).



course logo
A Beginner's Guide to Design Thinking
Number of sections:
Content length:
Delivery formats:


Kadian Davis-Owusu (PhD)
Kadian has a background in Computer Science and pursued her PhD and post-doctoral studies in the fields of Design for Social Interaction and Design for Health. She has taught a number of interaction design courses at the university level including the University of the West Indies, the University of the Commonwealth Caribbean (UCC) in Jamaica, and the Delft University of Technology in The Netherlands. Kadian also serves as the Founder and Lead UX Designer for TeachSomebody and is the host of the ExpertsConnect video podcast. In this function, Kadian serves to bridge the learning gap by delivering high-quality content tailored to meet your learning needs. Moreover, through expert collaboration, top-quality experts are equipped with a unique channel to create public awareness and establish thought leadership in their related domains.... Show more